reliving childhood nightmares

24 03 2008


oh god. not another one.

“Patricia the Stripper” by The Wombats

She works downtown in an unmarked bar,
Flyin’ round poles she always gave me the fright of my life
I didn’t mean to get involved it was the alcohol
Mixed with and empty feeling inside
Its such a bad idea to fall in love with a ‘lady of the night’

Why didn’t God give her two left feet
Then she couldn’t run away from me!

Months go by and I’m alone in bed
While she’s greasing up for when the businessmen and lawyers arrive
I’ve got to wear a beard a suit and tie
To get past the door if I want to see my girl tonight
I go to all this effort just to see my fair Patricia going home with some other guy

Why didn’t God give her two left feet
Then she couldn’t run away from me!
Why didn’t God give her two left feet
then she couldn’t run away from me!

She thinks I’m sad and that’s alright
But she doesn’t hate me so there’s my little alibi
I can’t, I can’t leave, I can’t I can’t I can’t
She’s my coked-up botox girl

Patricia, Patricia
Oh Patricia the Stripper you are my sunshine
Oh Patricia the stripper come on home tonight
Oh Patricia the Stripper you are my sunshine
So why can’t you come home with me tonight?

***Please note. My mother used to play the original song, by Chris DeBurgh, when I was young and tell me that if I was a bad little girl I would become a stripper when I grew up. Lets just say the closest I have come to fullfilling that prophecy was working at the brass rail… I mean Brasserie.****

Actions

Information

One response

25 03 2008
Pelon

Don’t give up yet. You could still turn out to be a great stripper!

Leave a Reply

